The trimester schedule certainly has its challenges.  Not the least of these is the notion of “starting over” in the middle of February.  Mentally I feel like I should be in the middle of some deep and dirty math, but in reality I am meeting new kids and teaching classroom policies and procedures…again…developing relationships with new kids takes time and I feel like I’m trying to do it in a matter of days. I had to let go of some TOTALLY AWESOME students that I will truly miss.  I was fearful of the new crew I was going to get, but luckily I seem to be blessed with good students who (so far) buy into my antics.  Trading seniors for sophomores is scary, but to this point I must admit that I am pleased.

I know I have blogged about this before, but I really am reminded of the importance of saving some time at the beginning of a class (even in Feb) to create a welcome and open environment.  Once again I have offered my students time at the end of each day’s class to write down a question or observation they have for me.  I will photograph some of these and add them tomorrow, but suffice it to say, the students almost all seem to appreciate the opportunity to let me into their personal lives a little.  It takes a bit of time, because I respond to each student’s thoughts, but in the end the time it takes is far repaid later on.

This has been a total ramble, but that’s how my brain is working lately.  Thanks for indulging me.  Maybe tomorrow will be more coherent.

 

 

