In an effort to keep up the blog, I felt I needed to post something. Sadly, I don’t have any *oh wow, that’s a great activity* ideas to share. Things are just kind of blah right now and I know I need to fix that, but sometimes stuff at home just trumps lesson plans and that’s been my life lately.

So, instead of a great lesson plan or a cool classroom activity, I’ll just share what I’ve learned in the last 2 weeks.

If you want to win over a bunch of high school kids, have Sharpies on hand, keep band aids in your desk (if you want bonus points, get the ones with cartoon characters on them), and have a bleach pen or stain remover handy at all times. Crazy right? but I swear, I’ve had a half a dozen kids buy into my class because I had these things on hand when they needed them. It didn’t cost me much. It’s all stuff I use anyway. And it wins them over. Everytime.

If you want your high school kids to be on your side, TALK TO THEM. About stuff that isn’t your subject. Or even school related. Ask them where they work. Find something they like and act like you’ve never heard of it so they can feel smart. Currently the topic of my classroom is Duck Dynasty and Frog Giggin’. Sure, I have a remote conception of what both of these are, but what does it hurt to let a few students think they are enlightening me to something they think is awesome. They respond well. Everytime.

Finally, I’ve been reminded this week to laugh. Not at people, that’s mean. Laugh at yourself. Laugh at funny jokes. Show a funny video if you can’t find anything else. This life is short. This job won’t last forever. Heck, this day won’t even last very long. Those kids are only mine for an hour a day (thanks for the reminder @fawnpnguyen). I have to make it count.

