Disclaimer: there is nothing related to lesson plans, teaching ideas, or anything professional in this post. It’s personal.

I teach. I love teaching. I love seeing a student “get it” after struggling. I love designing new lessons. I love scouring the MTBoS for ingenious ways of presenting material. I really do. But not today.

Today I’m sitting in ICU with a dear family member who is struggling to move from this life to the next. She barely knows I am here with her. I want to be her for her and for my husband, completely. But the job I love weighs on me the whole time. To even be here, I had to spend 3 hours writing lesson plans and figuring out what I could leave that a) the students would have at least a shot at being able to figure out and that b) wasn’t a ton of busy work. While I’m here, I get e-mails from parents wanting to know why their kid is failing and from students who want to know when they can retest. I still have to spend 3-4 hours completing a professional self-reflection as part of the new, *improved* teacher accountability that my state so fondly embraces. I have to pour through transcripts for students who need to take an end-of-course assessment…even though I have asked them who needs to do so. See, we can’t even deem them responsible enough to know what courses they have failed and repeated. I have 3 stacks of tests to grade, because that’s what I left them to do last week while I was here. And, I have to be ready to go back into the classroom Thursday, which means more lesson plans and idea development.

Thank goodness I have students who are patient, and who, at least on some level, know what my family is going through and are willing to endure the boring lecture and who are willing to at least try everything I leave for them to do. If I wasn’t blessed with those kids, I’m not sure how I’d even handle this situation.,

I love my job. But sometimes I really do wish I could escape and just take a month off to take care of my family. I have enough sick days. But I can’t make that many lesson plans. Real life just kind of sucks at times.

